Shackleton International School in Valencia

Shackleton International School in Valencia

The Pillars of our Education




At SHACKLETON INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL, we use a variety of different methodologies, so that our students can acquire a solid and integral foundation. In this way, depending on the area of work, the characteristics of the group, and of each individual student, we select the strategy that we consider most effective for a better understanding of the subject material and its assimilation. We seek the participation of each student, the interaction between peers and group dynamism to achieve an enriched and universal education.

True educational innovation does not depend solely on the use of the ICTs in the classroom, it must also have a pedagogical meaning. That is why many of our most interesting innovations do not depend on technology.

With this style of teaching, the student becomes the protagonist of their own learning process.

Formative Stages


Foundation Stage

The educational stages of children from 4 months/age 1 until age 5 (Year 1) are taught in our Early Childhood Education Centre SUPERFRIENDS INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL. From there, children will graduate to Year 2 at SHACKLETON INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL.
SHACKLETON INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL will not include the First Cycle of Early Childhood Education, instruction will begin from age 3 (Nursery) onwards. Students that have completed the First Cycle of Early Childhood Education at CHIQUILIN BILINGUAL SCHOOL will have a preference for admission.


Primary Education

In the British system, Primary Education starts in Year 1 (age 5) and is comprised of two Key Stages:

  • Key Stage 1 includes Year 1 and Year 2
  • Key Stage 2 includes Years 3, 4, 5 & 6

Secondary Education (ages 11 to 16)
Comprises two Key Stages:
Key Stage 3 (age 11 to age 14), equivalent to Years 7, 8 and 9.

Secondary Education

Comprises two Key Stages:

  • Key Stage 3 (age 11 to age 14), equivalent to Years 7, 8 and 9.
  • Key Stage 4 (age 14 to age 16). Year 10 and Year 11 form the last cycle of Secondary Education and are equivalent to the last two courses of the E.S.O in the Spanish system

Sixth Form

After having obtained IGCSEs (International General Certificate of Secondary Education), students proceed to Sixth Form.

For more information, please contact us